top of page
  • Amy McMillan

Doorways of Ominous Portent.


This project was titled Doorways of Ominous Portent you could be as literal or metaphorical as I want. I did Doorways of Opportunity I took inspiration from the social media phenomenon Hony also know as the Humans of New York Project. Produced by a photographer named Brandon, this project inspired me as the photography has such a meaning behind each image a glimpse into a random individuals life. I also took inspiration from the work and lecture of Anne Whiston and a particular quote from her Sensing Place Lecture. “I let them Speak” I wanted to let my images speak about experience and taking opportunities. I shoot images in Wales for a graduation which was modes Katy’s Doorway of opportunity at her University. this image was focused on shadows within the doorway. My second shoot was with model Cathryn who’s Doorway of opportunity was a work experience year that changed her life in so many ways with experience in different fields and gaining valuable contacts. This Shoot was very time consuming I didn’t want it to be just about the images but story behind them. This project was very interesting and I learnt a lot about meaning in images.

” Photographers bring certain features into dialogue” ( Anne Whiston )

• Photography: Amy McMillan

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page